Minnesota SPJ to host Pulitzer panel

SPJ's Pulitzer panel will include Minnesota Pulitzer Prize winners

MN-SPJ’s panel will include Minnesota Pulitzer Prize winners

The Minnesota pro chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists invites you to a Pulitzer Centennial event.

Is Trust Busted? Minnesota’s Pulitzer Prize Winners Weigh Journalism’s Role in an Era of Disbelief.

The Pulitzer Prize celebrates 100 years just as polls suggest declining trust in the media.  Join Minnesota’s Pulitzer winners to recognize great work from the past and the potential for powerful stories to build trust in journalism and beyond.

When: Thursday, Nov. 10; 6 p.m. reception followed by 7 p.m. panel discussion.
Where: Guthrie Theatre’s Dowling Studio

This event is free, but seating is limited.   Please register here

Intern Night draws 60 students


Panelists discuss internship opportunities Oct. 20 at WCCO-TV.

About 60 students from Minnesota colleges and universities joined the Society of Professional Journalists on Oct. 20 for the organization’s annual Media Intern Night.

The students gathered at WCCO-TV headquarters in Minneapolis and met with intern managers from the Associated Press, KARE 11, the Star Tribune and other media outlets — networking and learning about internship opportunities across the state.

SPJ’s Minnesota pro chapter hosts the event each fall.

SPJ’s annual Intern Night set for Oct. 20

Are you a journalism or communications student interested in learning more about internship opportunities?  Then join the Minnesota pro chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists for its 2016 Media Intern Night.

Intern Night is a great opportunity for students to learn about journalism internships across the state, network with media professionals and meet fellow journalism students from Minnesota colleges.

Where: WCCO-TV, 90 S. 11th St., Minneapolis.
When: 7 p.m. Thursday, Oct. 20.

The night’s panelists will include intern managers from the Associated Press, KARE 11, WCCO, the Star Tribune, the Pioneer Press, the Minneapolis St. Paul Business Journal and other organizations.

For more information and to registerclick here

Duluth News-Tribune highlighted in September Sampler

In this month’s Minnesota Sampler, Peter Passi at the Duluth News-Tribune looks at the potential for an electrical grid disruption in northern Minnesota in the event of a major, once-in-a-century solar storm.  A study by the U.S. Geological Survey indicates that the region, because of the conductive nature of its crust and geomagnetic forces, is perhaps the most likely place in the country for such an occurrence, Passi reports.

Here is the link.

August Sampler: Couple takes unique approach to son’s long-term care

In this month’s Minnesota Sampler, Mary Divine of the St. Paul Pioneer Press writes about a St. Croix River Valley couple that is building a long-term care center for their son, who was injured in a car crash nearly ten years ago, and others living with traumatic brain injuries.

Here’s the link.

MNSPJ disappointed in Supreme Court decision in Metro Transit case

The Minnesota Society of Professional Journalists is disappointed in the 3-2 decision of the Minnesota Supreme Court to deny KSTP-TV access to public information regarding public safety on a Metro Transit bus.

We agree with the dissenting opinion of Justice David Lillehaug and Chief Justice Lorie Skjerven Gildea, who agreed with an earlier ruling by the Minnesota Court of Appeals and an administrative law judge at the Department of Administration, both of whom ruled the video footage was public.

We agree with the dissent that noted the majority ruling “misreads” the Data Practices Act and essentially would allow government agencies to change public data into private data at their whim or whenever it made them look bad.

As the case is being sent back to the Office of Administrative Hearings for clarification on some minute details, we are hopeful that office will see that the minor issues brought up by the majority opinion should be outweighed by the presumption of openness in Minnesota’s Data Practices Act.

We applaud KSTP for pursuing this important public access case to the highest levels of the Minnesota judiciary and pressing the case — not just for journalists, but for the public at large.

We’re troubled by Metro Transit’s intransigence in this case and its apparent willingness to fight until the end to keep the public in the dark about its taxpayer-funded activities.

For more information about this statement:

Ben Garvin
c: 612-910-1499


Joe Spear
c: 507-317-8073