March 2000 Region 6 Report

Our regional conference is looking great. We have 64 speakers and panelists spread out over two days – April 14 and 15. The St. Paul Pioneer Press Mark of Excellence Awards Luncheon and Star Tribune Journalism Festival 2000 Reception are Friday.

The Region 6 business meeting is from 7:30 to 9 a.m. Saturday. I hope to see all chapter leaders and advisors there. This is where we discuss SPJ business. The National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences will sponsor a luncheon featuring CBS News correspondent Steve Hartman Saturday.

Brochures went out Monday. Each chapter will have to make copies if they need more or you can direct people to the Minnesota Web site, which has the registration information.

Remember, Journalism Festival 2000 is $25 for students, $45 for members and $55 for non-members. It includes two lunches and the reception. Registrations can be mailed to:

Minnesota Journalism Center
206 Church St. SE
Minneapolis, Mn. 55455
Book your hotel by March 23 to get the $81 SPJ rate.

Letters will be going this week to the winners of fellowships to attend Journalism Festival 2000.

Winners of a Region 6 award are:
Lindsay Morris, Marquette University, $200
St. Cloud State University, up to 10 people, $300 total.

Taishoff winners
Lashawn Cunningham, Bronx, NY., $200
Tina Potthoff, Monroe, La. $200
Lee Heike, Eau Claire, Wis. $200
Nicole Sawatzke, American University, $200
KTTC-TV, Rochester, $200.

Any student SPJ member from the region who needs financial help attending the Region 6 conference should contact Dave Aeikens, Region 6 Director. There is additional money in the region account to assist.

Here is another opportunity that should be taken advantage of. National SPJ is offering 60 people, two from 30 chapters, the chance to attend
the SPJ 2000 Ted Scripps Leadership Training Aug. 11-13 in Greencastle and Indianapolis, Ind.

This is a wonderful conference that will help new or struggling chapters move forward and allow strong chapters to continue to build. Leaders from Milwaukee, Minnesota, St. Cloud State, University of North Dakota have attended recently.

All of you should have received an application from national contact Tammi Hughes, if you need one. The deadline is April 7.

The annual Region 6 student awards are being judged. There are a number of entries in all the categories. Look for an announcement of winners later in March. Winners will receive their awards at the St. Paul Pioneer Press Mark of Excellence Luncheon April 14 at the Four Points Sheraton in Minneapolis.

The Madison, Wis. Pro Chapter is hosting a meeting march 16 in honor of James Madison,s birthday. It will focus on radio news reporting. Call President Gordon Govier if you have questions. (608) 271-1025. The University of Minnesota Chapter has invited a number of professionals March 22 to talk to students and job prospects.

The St. Thomas Chapter held a similar event bringing in pros to meet with students March 9.

The University of North Dakota Chapter has a special speaker, Peter Engario of Business Week, April 27. The Minnesota Pro Chapter will hold its annual Page One Awards Banquet May 24 at the St. Paul Hotel in St. Paul The keynote speaker is Mark Yudof, president of the University of Minnesota.

Remember to send details of your event to Mike Knaak, Minnesota SPJ’s Webmaster, so it can be posted on the calendar. You can reach him at