2009 Page One Awards — Enter Today!


The Minnesota Professional Chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists (MN SPJ) recognizes the best in Minnesota journalism each year with its annual Page One Awards. This year, MN SPJ is excited to announce that it has put the entry process online. Entrants can submit entries and payment at: https://newscouncil.wufoo.com/forms/2009-page-one-awards-contest-entry-form/.

SPJ has also revamped several entry categories, expanding its awards for the state’s best magazine and online journalism. In addition, for the first time, magazine and online entries will be judged in separate divisions, based on newsroom size or affiliation.

We are currently accepting 2009 Page One contest entries from newspapers, magazines, weekly news publications, television and radio newsrooms, and online news outlets. The contest winners will be honored at SPJ’s Page One Banquet, an annual spring event celebrating excellence in Minnesota journalism.

Journalists working for all print, broadcast and online news outlets in Minnesota (or news outlets in neighboring states that cover Minnesota) are eligible to enter. All work published or broadcast during the 2008 calendar year is eligible. Entries must be submitted by Wednesday, February 18th, 2009. The fee is $20 per entry.

You can access the entry form online here. Full entry category descriptions are here.

Sarah Bauer
e: sarah.bauer@news-council.org
p: 612-341-9357