2013 Page One Award Winners Announced

The Star Tribune’s multimedia presentation of a mass execution in Minnesota earned several top honors at the annual Minnesota SPJ Page One awards–including story of the year, journalist of the year and in-depth story.

The ‘In the Footsteps of Little Crow‘ series was named story of the year, Curt Brown won journalist of the year, and Brown, David Joles and Jim Gehrz were praised for their work on the project.

The Star Tribune’s Eric Roper was also named “Young Journalist of the Year.”

WCCO-TV morning anchors Jason DeRusha and Jamie Yuccas announce the award winners.
WCCO-TV morning anchors Jason DeRusha and Jamie Yuccas announce the award winners.
Those are among the stand-outs at the annual event celebrating the best efforts in journalism from the past year. Minnesota SPJ awarded trophies in more than 80 categories for top-notch newspaper, TV, magazine, radio, online reporting and photography. (See full results here.)

In addition to the journalism awards, the Minnesota Pro Chapter of SPJ also gave its 2013 Peter S. Popovich Award to Timberjay Newspapers publisher Marshall Helmberger for his determined fight to shine the light on publicly funded construction contracts in St. Louis County.

The chapter also announced two journalism students, Brianna Kelly of DePaul University and Callie Sacarelos of the University of Minnesota, will each received a $2,500 scholarship. Minnesota SPJ awards the scholarships each year, funded partly by generous donations from its annual silent auction.

2013 Page One Awards BanquetRandi Kaye, an Emmy Award-winning anchor and correspondent for CNN/U.S, based in New York who reports for Anderson Cooper 360°, was the keynote speaker at the Page One awards.  A former WCCO reporter and anchor, Kaye shared some of the big stories she’s covered throughout her career, including the recent, emotional reunion of Boston bombing victim Erika Brannock, with the woman who provided critical care and support to her immediately following the incident.

About the Page One Awards
The Minnesota Pro Chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists honors the best in journalism each year with the Page One Awards. The entries are all shipped to different cities for judging to avoid conflict of interest. The entries for this year’s awards were judged by members of the Indiana Pro Chapter of SPJ.

The Society of Professional Journalists (SPJ), the oldest, largest and broadest-based organization of journalists in the U.S., was founded as Sigma Delta Chi in 1909. The Minnesota Chapter was founded in 1956. The chapter membership totals about 160.

If you would like to order duplicate awards, or have any awards-related questions, please contact Minnesota SPJ at minnesota.spj@gmail.com.

Download full list of winners/event program (PDF)

Download full list of winners (Excel)

View more photos from the banquet.