2020 Page One Awards in Photography


MNSPJ congratulates all the winners recognized Tuesday night at the annual Page One Awards!  Here’s a list of winners for excellence in photography.


6A. Best News Photography First Place Evan Frost MPR News Collection of work Photos one and three captured powerful moments, nice composition, exposure and told the story in one frame. Well done.
  Second Place Jeff Wheeler Star Tribune Jeff Wheeler  
  Third Place Jean Pieri St. Paul Pioneer Press Polar Vertex  
6B. Best Feature Photography First Place Alex Kormann Star Tribune Alex Kormann Great composition, use of light and shadows. Great capture of action and exposure.
  Second Place Christine Nguyen MPR News Faces of Minnesota: A collection  
6C. Best Portrait Photography First Place Leila Navidi Star Tribune   Captivating use of light, technique and creativity in all portraits. The wide variety you included in your entries shows your skill in capturing fun moments and personalities in different categories and compositions. Really nice work.
  Second Place Evan Frost MPR News ChangeMakers  
  Third Place Colin Michael Simmons City Pages Colin Michael Simmons  
6D. Best Sports Photography First Place Aaron Lavinsky Star Tribune Aaron Lavinsky Great capture of moments and emotion that really tells the story of the game. Clean captures, thoughtful compositions. The first photo of the football team is a great moment, and really cool light with the weather. The hockey players you captured is a wonderful angle, love the athletes hair and expression. Third photo is unique. I have seen lots of wrestling shots and I like the unique and strangeness you captured. Nice Job!
  Second Place Evan Frost MPR News Lucy Laney boxing tournament  
  Third Place Eric Hylden Grand Forks Herald Eric Hylden’s sports photos