June 22, 2006 Meeting Minutes

Location: Sweeney’s Dale Street Wine Bar

Members present:
Marisa Helms, president; Dave Aeikens, secretary; Nicole Garrison-Sprenger, treasurer; Todd Melby; Dave Beal; Yvonne Klinnert ; Joan Gilbertson.

The board counted the ballots from the election. Here are the results:

Joan Gilbertson, 18 votes.

Yvonne Klinnert 18 votes

Nicole Garrison-Sprenger 18 votes

Directors for two year terms
Sarah Bauer 19 votes
Dave Beal 17 votes
Jane Kirtley 17 votes
Sara McCann 17 votes

Director one-year term
Amy Chaffins 16 votes

New board members take office July 1.

Treasurer’s report
Garrison-Sprenger gave a treasurer’s report. She said the chapter has $11,549 in checking and $16,596 in savings.
The change in accounts is already reaping additional interest.

Other business
Aeikens moved and Melby seconded thanking Helms for her work as president the last year and a half. She finished the term of Ashley Grant in 2005.

Helms will ship the chapter’s Legal Defense Fund contributions to Heather Porter at national headquarters. The chapter has a book that Al Franken signed, a John Knight biography, copies of the Pioneer Press from Sept. 12, 2001, and is working on getting something Prairie Home Companion related. Gilbertson will try to get an autographed photo of Katie Couric when she visits Minneapolis in July.

President-elect Art Hughes will set the next meeting.